Badgers hand out yearly awards

By Tyler Lowey, Times Reporter

The Strathmore Community Football Association Badgers held their annual awards banquet as a way for one final glimpse back at the successful season that was.
There were no league championships won this year, but plenty of outstanding individual performances to recognize and honour.
The peewee Badgers made it the furthest of the three programs, as they lost in the Central Peewee Football League title to the Stettler Panthers in a miserable winter snow storm.
They wouldn’t have reached the league final for the second-straight year if it wasn’t for the outstanding efforts by Brady Johansen, who was named the peewee Most Valuable Player.
Johansen was a dominating running back, providing the power game up the middle to complement the shifty outside running of Austin McInnis. He was also a force on the defensive side of the ball, tackling ball carriers in the back field and moving teams backwards.
Johansen was also named a CPWFL All Star and was honoured for his three years of participation at the peewee level.
Garrett Larrviee, Porter Zaugg, McInnis, Adam Greenhill, Riley Shea and Jacob Robson were also named to CPWFL All Stars.
Sticking with the peewee division, Jordan Southern, Logan Van Sickle, Brooklynn Weal, Jaydin Robson, Niles Grill, Isaiah Weibe, Bodey Pettifer, Larrivee and Shea were named for the Badger Award, an award recognizing players for their leadership, proficiency, attitude and dedication towards the team. Joining Johansen, Larrivee, Josh Potter, Zaugg, McInnis, Adam Greenhill and Van Sickle were honoured for their three years of service at the peewee level. Wrapping up the peewee awards was Jack Barlund, who was named Defensive Lineman of the Year; Zaugg won the Offensive Lineman of the Year award, Greenhill was named the Defensive Back of the Year, McInnis was named the Offensive Back of the Year; the Most Improved award went to Gage Robison and Aiden Barlund was the Rookie of the Year.
The roster overhaul that Head Coach Sean Seafoot had to deal with was made easier by a rookie at the senior level.
Luke Henry graduated the bantam program last year and excelled as a running back this season.
“He had a huge impact as a running back. He is super-fast and when he gets a block in 9-on-9 football, he took advantage off all that running room. He is a physical back that has a great understanding for the game,” said Seafoot.
Henry also won the Rookie of the Year award and the top Offensive Back award, along with being named a Mountainview Conference All Star.
Joining Henry on the All Star team was Zach Palardy, Austin Drummond, Brandon Middlemiss and Brayden DesRoche.
Winning the Badger Award at the senior level was Anthony Timmons, Malikia Henry, Brandon Middlemiss, Owen Grill, Nicolas Heaton, Delray Yellow Old Women and Angelina Palardy. Timmons and Sam Ropson were honoured for their three years of service at the senior level.
Other senior awards went to Zach Palardy, who won the Offensive and Defensive Lineman of the Year awards; Drummond was named Defensive Back of the Year and Quentin Frayn won the Most Improved award.
It was a difficult season for the bantam Bagders, who finished the regular season without a win. But that didn’t mean that there weren’t any great individual performances.
Cooper Nelson was named MVP, along with a Central Football League All Star selection.
Jack Warrack was the other bantam player named to the All Star team, as he also won the Top Offensive Lineman award.
Ty Stone, Sean Grill, Aiden Hopp, Adam Speidel, Brigham Zaugg and Jordan Stewart won the Badger awards, while only Ryker McKinnon was celebrated for three years at the bantam level.
Wrapping up the bantam awards was Bennett Salmon, who was named Defensive Lineman of the Year; Connor Carrobourg won the Top Defensive Back award, Riley Heysa was named Offensive Back of the Year, Bowen Dale won the Most Improved award and Brody Holladay was named the Rookie of the Year.